Perspectives on Business and Economics, Vol. 40

iv also to Jeff Streit, TAPS veteran and supervisor at the Glennallen Response Base, for missing afternoon meetings to give a tour of Pump Station 11 on the way to Fairbanks. Sincere thanks to Scott McCrea, president and CEO, Explore Fairbanks, for hosting at the Morris Thompson Cultural and Visitors Center and his suggestions for speakers. Joshua Verhagen, mayor of Nenana, deserves thanks for a tour of the town and discussing life in rural Alaska. And, a huge thank you to Rachel Gold from Alaska Geographic for the educational hike in Denali, exploring issues surrounding climate change. Finally, Anna Hipkiss, bus driver from Premier Alaska Tours, narrated the many long rides. We appreciate her passion for Alaska and care for the safety of the group. David Arnold Brooks Banker Kevin Berry Weston Branshaw Maile Branson Jim Brewers Zack Brown Chris Conlon Amy Cook Jeffry Cook Sharon Cook Adia Cotter Krystal Crawford Rinah Fifield Anna Frank Neal Fried Bryan Friedrichs Steve Gebert Darla Graham Britta Hamre Sara Harriger Dave Haugen Victoria Herrmann Jeff Hetrick Dewey Hoffman Rhonda Hubbard Alana Humphrey Marjorie Illingworth Ron Illingworth Jim Jager Alexander James Chris Jimenez Bernie Karl Laura Koepsell Gary Larsen Lisa Mahan Michael Mahmood Stephen Naimoli Brian O’Leary Carmen Olmos Darren Prokop Patricia Relay Ilaura Reeves Jordan Reeves Laura Schneider Diana Sevier Dale Shaw Kat Sorensen Tom Tougas Niko Tsafos David van den Berg Jesse von Stein Maria Williams Peter Winfrey The Martindale Center thanks the following individuals: The Martindale Center thanks the following organizations: Alaska Communications Alaska Gasline Development Corporation Alaska Native Heritage Center Alaska Pipeline Service Company Alutiiq Pride Marine Institute Alaska Public Lands Information Center–Fairbanks Alaska Safety Alliance Arctic Institute Chena Hot Springs Cook Inlet Region, Inc. Doyon Foundation Eagle River Nature Center Exit Marine F/V Kruzof FedEx Fire Island Wind, Chugach Electric Association Gold Daughters Good Titrations Greater Fairbanks Community Hospital Foundation Hotel 360 J&R Alaska Fish Sales Lazy Otter Charter Major Marine Tours Murie Science and Learning Center National Park Service Nenana Visitor Center North Pole Peonies OBI Seafoods Port of Alaska Standing Together Against Rape Alaska Department of Labor & Workforce Development Story Works Alaska Tanana Chiefs Conference U.S. Army Corp of Engineers Valdez Museum VISTA The Martindale Student Associates thank Trisha Alexy for organizing the itinerary and topic sessions; faculty mentors, Professors Lamadrid, LeMaster, Ward, Watkins, Weisman, and White, for guidance on research and writing; and Professor Emeritus Stephen Cutcliffe and Nancy Watkins for their editorial rigor and patience. The students also thank the faculty spouses for support and friendship throughout. On behalf of the Martindale community of students, alumni, faculty, staff, and friends, we express immense appreciation to Douglas Lane '67 and Gay Lane for their support of this journal and, finally, to Professor Emeritus J. Richard Aronson for founding the program and creating such an enduring legacy at Lehigh. Todd A. Watkins, Ph.D. Executive Director, Martindale Center Stephen Cutcliffe, Ph.D. Editor